Several Questions on How BOVPN Works

Hello!

I'm a little new at some of this, so please bare with me. We have a client who is moving from one location to another two locations, and has resources they need shared between systems at both of the locations. I think BOVPN can help with this, but I'm trying to wrap my head around some of it.

So, we have two WG Fireboxes ready to use for this, and we'll have static IP addresses available at both new office locations. Both new offices should be fairly small, expecting around 7 computers at branch site, maybe 12 at the main office when you add in servers. I'm planning to follow the instructions below to configure a BOVPN between them:
https://www.watchguard.com/help/docs/help-center/en-US/Content/en-US/Fireware/bovpn/manual/manual_bovpn_quick_start_c.html

I have some questions about how things should be set up after the move, though.

Currently, we have a Domain Controller server on the network that also handles DHCP. Is that still a good idea? Should I have the Fireboxes handle DHCP instead? If I have the Domain Controller at the main office doing DHCP, will the devices at the branch office be able to get an IP address from that server?

If it's indeed better to have the Fireboxes handle DHCP, I have a couple other questions. I noticed that when setting up the BOVPN, you can set up dissimilar local IP addresses at the different sites. If a system at the branch office needed resources from the main office, how does that resolve when the IP addresses are dissimilar? Can systems recognize each others names across the tunnel? Or can they browse to the IP addresses on the other side of the tunnel?

Also, do domain functions work across the tunnel? Will the systems at the branch be able to sign in to the same domain as at the main office?

Thanks so much for any help and for understanding. A lot of this is new to me, so I figured I should just ask someone for help!

Comments