Options

Working with Datto SmartSwitch?

Does anyone have any experience working with a Datto smart switch sitting between a Firebox and a couple of AP130s? Datto's documentation on using the switch (without their firewall and APs) is fairly sparse, and I'm not really sure how to configure the thing. Can anyone provide any guidelines?

The goal is to hang a couple of AP130s off the switch, and a dumb-switch for general desktop use, off the E8 switch. I'll have two wireless VLANs - internal and guest networks - and I'll have desktops and printers, etc. wired in. I'd love it if I could bridge the internal WLAN and the LAN, but I'll settle for just creating bidirectional routing between them, if that's what is necessary.

I'm new at working with Watchguard, and not all that familiar with the Datto switches yet. So I'm not sure what I need to do on the various devices to get this to work. Wish Watchguard also made switches.... :|

Answers

• Options
    james.carsonjames.carson Moderator, WatchGuard Representative

So long as your VLANs match up, the AP130s should be able to talk to your network with no issues.

I'd suggest seeking out help on Datto's website if you need help with their switches. You may find folks here that can help, but the folks on the Datto side should be able to better help with that hardware.

-James Carson
    WatchGuard Customer Support

• Options

I've not worked with these - but they are VLAN capable - so look to a VLAN solution.
    You could have a switch VLAN with both internal WLAN and the LAN.
    And you can have multiple firewall interfaces be members of the same VLAN, another way to "bridge" your internal WLAN and the LAN.
    I have an AP330, with 4 VLANs connected to my Firebox.

• Options

I'd suggest seeking out help on Datto's website if you need help with their switches. You may find folks here that can help, but the folks on the Datto side should be able to better help with that hardware.