Options

BOVPN to BOVPN Slow Transfer Rates

Good afternoon! I'm quite new to the world of Network Admin (I'm the deskside guy who has been tasked to fix the network). My company has 3 locations nationwide (USA) and we have an M370 with Symmetrical Gigabit Fiber in each location. One of these locations has complained about horrendously slow network connectivity since we upgraded to gigabit fiber and upgraded their firewall from a T10 to the M370.

When I check our systems on the web interface for our watchguards, I noticed that our bandwidth on the dashboard > Front Panel indicates our external bandwidth and our IPSec VPN rates. Both of these are under 32 Mbps, which indicates I've overlooked something during configuration preventing my connections from taking advantage of the gigabit speeds I should have. Is there anything I have indeed missed with what little description I've provided? Do I need to set up routing or should it be automated typically? Is there a handy guide for configuration? I've found what the systems CAN do, but not necessarily how to do it - short of spending time on youtube.

Thank you for your input!

Comments

• Options
    edited February 2021

When the firewall was upgraded from a T10 to the M370, was the T10 config moved to the M370 or was a new config created from scratch?

Any specific type of transfer or access is slow over the gigabit link?

Is Internet traffic speed OK?

Check if the firewall external interface is set to Auto or a fixed speed/duplex.
    A mismatch between the external interface and the gigabit connection device can cause collisions and/or errors on that connection, which will slow down BOVPN and Internet traffic.
    . One can see errors or collision counts in WSM System Manager -> Firebox System Manager -> Status Report -> Interfaces section
    . You can see the current Link Speed in the Web UI -> Dashboard -> Interfaces or in FSM Status Report -> Interfaces section