WebBlocker and Application Control in WiFi Cloud

Am I missing something or is the WebBlocker and Application Control we had in the Gateway Wireless Controller (Fireboxes) definitely not the same?

Do we have to know exactly what we want blocked and manually setup each item?

I'm new to actually setting up an AP using the Cloud WiFi and it just doesn't seem as user friendly as going Basic through my firewall(XTM).

Suggestions or pointers?

Comments

• In XTM, it is your policies, not Gateway Wireless Controller, by which you implement WebBlocker and Application Control, and also all other XTM security products such as GAV, Geolocation and DNSWatch.

• So I still control those aspects through the XTM even those it's WiFi Cloud setup?

I'll get a better view tomorrow, dept. closed right now, but I didn't see any traffic.

Should I have it set for SSID Bridge or Nat mode?
    Currently this is 'Guest' access with employees using it also.

Nat mode I get internet access; Bridge mode I lose it. My XTM does DHCP but I noticed the AP325 Nat mode does DHCP with a different IP scheme.
    AP325 - 172... vs XTM - 10....

In Bridge mode I don't get assigned (wireless device) an IP address from my XTM (10.0.2.xxx). No internet access.
    in Nat mode my wireless device gets a 172.16.101.xxx address from the AP. Internet access.

• Wifi cloud devices have nothing to do with an XTM appliance.
    You don't need a WG firewall to implement WG wifi cloud capable APs.
    Thus XTM security options/concepts do not apply to a WG wifi cloud AP.
    WG wifi cloud allows a totally different set of wifi cloud AP reporting than is available with an XTM controlled AP.
    Basically - 2 unrelated implementations.

If you really want the controls over an AP that XTM allows, and don't need the features of WG wifi cloud, then you can change the AP to be a Basic AP setup:

FAQ:
    How to change a Total Wi-Fi or Secure Wi-Fi cloud-managed AP to a Basic Wi-Fi local-managed AP