Enable WOL in VPN SSL

Hi, Neophyte question,
In my office we use a WatchGuard M370 firewall. We have set up an SSL VPN and everything works except one thing, the wake-on-lan of the machines in the office from the remote computers connect in the VPN.
For example, right now I am connected with my notebook in VPN from home and I am trying to turn on my PC in the office, but if I send the command WOL, nothing happens.
(Obviously the PC in the office is configured to turn on with the wake-on-lan, if with my notebook I physically connect to the office network I can turn on the PC)

I think that as the WOL is a broadcast packet it is blocked by the firewall, I can ask you to help me create a rule to allow this packet. I think it's pretty simple, but I'm very new to firewalls.

Thank id advance.

Comments

• Why not connect to a system that is on the same subnet (via RDP) and wake up your system from there? I suppose you could create a policy for whatever port is needed from (192.168.113.x/24????) to your iLO...in my experience, I find another way in to just be easier.

• You can't create a policy to allow broadcast packet across firewall interfaces.
    Also, there is no WOL Directed Broadcast function in Fireware.
    So you need a different solution, perhaps this:
    https://www.remotepc.com/help/windows/wol.htm

• Yeah WOL is a type of broadcast and broadcasts (on the WG at least) is restricted to subnet (which is by design since subnet routers are supposed to control each network like it is a separate “broadcast domain”
  • @Bruce_Briggs Thanks for the reply, I have read the link you sent me, but I stop when I get to this point:
    _Enable WoL through a Public IP

Before you enable WOL through a public IP, ensure the following requirements are met:
    Network Firewall (if any) should be configured to allow any UDP packet that is received for this Public IP and Port number._

This operation on the firewall is my question.