Correct setup for firecluster?

Hi all

I've been trying to figure out the correct hardware configuration for our new firecluster. I'm pretty new to this, so wanted to ask for some feedback.

I want to set up a new active/active cluster. I'm pretty much there to make sure the cluster on itself works in a test setup, but of course it needs to go to our datacenter, where we have two IP adresses for our use. I tried to make up some scheme about what I think it will look like.

Can I have some feedback on how the external interfaces (int 1 and int 2 on each firewall) should be configured and if this is pretty much the right thing to do? My thoughts on the interfaces is this:
0. Management IP
1. IP address of external IP 1
2. IP address of external IP 2
3. 192.168.45.254
4. 192.168.45.254 -> I don't think this is possible though. So I guess better 192.168.45.253?
5. disabled -> not needed
6. and 7 as said in the drawing.

I guess Both members of the cluster will have the exact copy (apart from cluster interfaces).

Thanks!

Answers

1. & 4. - you can't have the same subnet defined to 2 different routed firewall interfaces.

So you need to rethink the setup for these.
    I don't use Aruba switches, so I don't know the best way to set up the redundancy that you seem to be trying to create here.

• edited March 2022

Look at Link Aggregation, which may be what you want here:

About Link Aggregation
    https://www.watchguard.com/help/docs/help-center/en-US/Content/en-US/Fireware/networksetup/link_aggregation_about_c.html

• Apparently Link Aggregation only works with an active/passive cluster ... Any idea how I will need to set up the coonfig with an active/active? We went for maximum security, that's why we have doubled every hardware component. But now I wonder if that was the smartest thing to do

• FYI - you went for higher availability, not maximum security.

Do you need the throughput of an A/A cluster?
    If not, consider an A/P cluster.