Firebox Policy Puzzler - Why Don't I have Access to the Web?

Hello everyone,

I'm very puzzled. (New Firebox T85 user, Cloud managed, test environment, DNS handled on an internal server, TLS Decryption disabled.)

I don't have any web access when I have a single core policy standing between my Internal Client and the Internet, with "Web, FTP, All TCP and UDP, PING" Traffic Types allowed. The browser simply says, "ERR_CONNECTION_CLOSED". [Case A]

If I edit this policy, removing all the Traffic Types above, and adding back "All" Traffic Types - and no other changes, my browser kicks into life. [Case B]

I have captured packets on the Internet side of the Firebox, to see if I can determine what is being filtered out in [Case A] - but I'm no Wireshark expert. What I cannot see is any [SYN] packets being sent from the Firebox... Why would my simple vanilla web access policy allowing "Web, FTP, All TCP and UDP, PING" Traffic Types, filter them out?

Many thanks for your thoughts.

Andrew

Best Answer

• Answer ✓

[SOLUTION]

I opened a support case and eventually got through to a support engineer who suggested rebooting the Firebox. Guess what - it worked!

For some reason, the "Proxy Policy" that handled the "Web Traffic" type (beneath the hood, hidden from the Cloud interface) wasn't activated and rebooting made it active. He had to enable the local Fireware web UI on the Firebox to see this.

Now, looking at the Traffic Monitor, we can see allowed packets with "ProxyAllow: HTTPS Request categories", which were not there before. (The TCP SYN check failures were a symptom of the problem, rather than the cause.)

We're not sure how this hidden proxy policy was deactivated - or indeed if it was ever active at the point that the policy was created. It may be a bug that never reoccurs.

Anyway, the old "turn it off and on again" solution strikes again - I can't believe that I didn't try it, and that the 10 WatchGuard support techs I dealt with never suggested it!!!