Options

Failover, link monitor, and SD-WAN

This is my first time working with multiple ISPs on a Firebox. I have a client with Spectrum Cable as their primary ISP, AT&T Fiber for secondary, and AT&T LTE wireless backup for tertiary connection. I have their T35 running 12.5.7 U3 doing Multi-WAN failover in the order above, along with Link Monitor and SD-WAN.

Link Monitor is monitoring all the connections just so I can see how loss, latency, and jitter compare (so far, it's AT&T Fiber, AT&T LTE, then Spectrum for quality). I just asked my AT&T provider if it is OK to keep monitoring the LTE or if that will somehow incur extra charges for uptime or data usage. That made me wonder if I am doing this correctly.

Assuming that monitoring the LTE would incur extra charges, I can turn off Link Monitor on the LTE and still have it as an SD-WAN action, BUT I don't know what the outcome of that would be or if it is needed.

For failover to happen, do I need either Link Monitor or SD-WAN active? Without LM or SD-WAN on the LTE connection, if Spectrum and AT&T Fiber go down, I just want it to fail over to the LTE, then fail back to Spectrum and AT&T when they come up again.

Thank you for your help!

Gregg Hill

Comments

• Options
    james.carsonjames.carson Moderator, WatchGuard Representative

We can still fail over, but if we're not pinging that connection we can't guarnatee it's up. I'm not sure what data rates are for your service, but it's unlikely that pings are going to eat up anything substantial over a month.

If you utilize the firebox's built in USB 3G/4G modem support, the firewall can be set up to only bring the 3G/4G modem up when it's needed for failover (to help decrease any costs involved.)

-James Carson
    WatchGuard Customer Support

• Options