Options

Whitelist website

I'm an administrator of the website https://nz.tradevine.com and recently got notified by a customer that 'watchguard' firewall internet security is apparently blocking the customers access to our site. Is there a way I can lodge a whitelist request; plus I'd like to know why the site was flagged in the first place?

Comments

• Options

You can’t lodge a whitelist with WatchGuard to permit any website through anyone's firewall, you can lodge a URL category suggested change i.e. it’s in the incorrect category, Without knowing the reason why its blocked or which security service blocked it I am assuming its WatchGuard URL filter called Web Blocker
    Checking this https://nz.tradevine.com/ is categorized as Information Technology which isn’t necessarily a malicious category however the admin of the firewall blocking it could set that category to be blocked. Even if so the admin of the firewall can still block the category yet whitelist your individual site.

Of course I don't know the specific reasons its blocked and am assuming the customer sees a block message which could indicate its the URL filter, but there are many reasons why a firewall might block a website, be that URL cat, virus etc, many of them wont deliver a block message whereas URL filtering and Web Blocker will.

The key question if am assuming correctly here is that its likely to be your customers own firewall or whatever WatchGuard they are behind when they attempt to reach your website ( i.e. Its their problem to fix not yours) they need to discuss it with there own corporate ICT people their own firewall administrator and ask why they cant access your website, have the logs looked at to understand the real reason.